Author Topic: Black residue?  (Read 1137 times)

Offline Paula Maidl

• WAGS: The heartbeat of cast iron collecting.
Black residue?
« on: December 28, 2014, 11:16:29 PM »
I am new to cast iron, and have cleaned and re-seasoned 3 skillets so far using Cheryl's wonderful instructions (thank you Cheryl!).  All the skillets look good, but one is still giving off a black residue on paper towels after being heated and oiled.  The surface of the skillet doesn't appear any different than the other two in looks and texture, but the others do not give off the black residue.  Any ideas what this might be?  Is this a normal thing or not?  Should I start over with the cleaning/seasoning again and see if that resolves the issue?  Thanks for any thoughts/advice you can share.
Paula

Offline Cheryl Watson

• Administrator
  • The HersheyPark Kitty
Re: Black residue?
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2014, 12:02:38 AM »
Paula, every once in a while I come across a skillet that just likes to keep shedding carbon...  (is it by any chance a Wagner? )  :)

It's hard to say if it was a slight difference in the balance of ingredients in the molten iron, that causes higher graphite content, or some sort of acidic exposure over the life of the skillet.....   

I would just try a few additional coats of seasoning, and then start using it.

:)

What oil are you using to season with?

Offline Duke Gilleland

• WAGS member
  • WAGS: The heartbeat of cast iron collecting!
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2014, 04:47:46 AM »
I have more trouble with BS & R doing this when it happens :-/
Nowhere But TEXAS!

Offline Russell Ware

• Administrator
  • WAGS: Heartbeat of Cast Iron Cookware Collecting
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2014, 09:47:27 AM »