Author Topic: Heating large griddles  (Read 2381 times)

Dimlock

Heating large griddles
« on: June 03, 2004, 11:18:15 AM »
I finally got around to seasoning a number 11 Griswold griddle, and really like using it.  It sits directly on all four burners on my standard sized stove, touching the raised rim of the bottom of the griddle.  I started out all four burners at the same setting, but of course the larger burners gave off more heat, so I adjusted the heat up for the small ones.

My question is:  How easy is it to crack or warp these larger griddles due to heat variations?  Have you ever done it, or seen it happen?

I would like to keep half of the griddle hotter, say for hashbrowns, and half cooler, like for eggs.  I would also like to put a pot or pan directly on part of the griddle, as all burners are covered by the griddle.  Do you think either of these practices could harm the griddle?  I'm just starting out with a smaller logo version, but I'd really like to put my Griswold's Erie #11 to use, if I can be pretty sure that I'll not hurt it.

Thanks!

Steve_Stephens

Re: Heating large griddles
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2004, 11:31:26 AM »