Author Topic: Seasoning Lids  (Read 2062 times)

Offline Karen Kale

• WAGS member
Seasoning Lids
« on: October 30, 2013, 10:00:07 PM »
I think I've got skillet seasoning down, but this is my first time doing a lid. I usually go with Crisco or lard, with some Pam from time to time, but my gut is telling me to stick with Pam for the lid. It's a raised letter lid, so I'm worried about Crisco gunking up the letters. I'm a chronic "wiper" when I season, but I imagine it's difficult to really wipe within the letters well, and I'd hate to find coagulated Crisco on my lid.

Maybe I'm overthinking things, but I wanted to ask in case anyone had advice.

Offline Cheryl Watson

• Administrator
  • The HersheyPark Kitty
Re: Seasoning Lids
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2013, 10:06:50 PM »
Karen, I always do high heat seasoning, so the oil itself thins out the minute it is applied.  Crisco should not gunk up the lettering any more than any oil if:
a.  the lid is nice and hot
or
b.  you can pre-melt the Crisco if needed.

I usually wipe down with wadded up paper towels, however, the one exception is Lettering..  I pull out the Terry Cloth towel and/or Q-tips if necessary after that. :)

Offline Karen Kale

• WAGS member
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2013, 11:37:11 PM »
Thanks Cheryl! I was trying to avoid the Q-tips, but my gut also told me that might also be the only way to ensure those letters would be clean. This will certainly be an experiment. :)

When seasoning, I always pre-heat an item at 250 for at least 20 minutes before I apply oil, and then I crank up the temp. Does 250 qualify as "hot" for the first application, or should I bump up the temp a bit?

Offline Cheryl Watson

• Administrator
  • The HersheyPark Kitty
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2013, 02:33:22 AM »
Karen, everyone has their own methods....