Author Topic: Cleaning Lids - Rust redeveloped?  (Read 1845 times)

Offline Karen Kale

• WAGS member
Cleaning Lids - Rust redeveloped?
« on: November 02, 2013, 07:36:25 PM »
This is a follow-up to my question on seasoning a lid, or perhaps a prequel to that question, as it looks like I’m not quite ready for seasoning yet; I’m still in the cleaning stage. I’m a novice cleaner at best, and have only cleaned a few pieces, though have had success with my rudimentary methods until now. You know, the Easy-Off in a bag, vinegar soak and scrub method.

I used this method on my lid, and scrubbed off 98% of the rust after the vinegar soak, but there were still bits remaining under the lip and around the drip rings and lettering. I didn’t have time to completely finish (plus my arms were exhausted from all that scrubbing), so I re-sprayed with Easy-Off and put into a new bag. Big mistake, when I opened that bag three days later, the entire lid had re-rusted.

Was re-spraying the problem? Did I leave it in too long? I guess it would make sense that exposing bare iron to that moisture would immediately create rust, but I could swear I have read that this was a suggested way to neutralize any vinegar remnants after a soak, so I thought it was OK. Maybe I’m remembering incorrectly, so I’m hoping someone can tell me what I did wrong. I definitely don’t want to make this mistake again.

Time to scrub again … my boyfriend offered to build me an electro tank, tonight I’m definitely thinking of taking him up on that!

Offline Cheryl Watson

• Administrator
  • The HersheyPark Kitty
Re: Cleaning Lids - Rust redeveloped?
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2013, 07:43:03 PM »
Karen, the rust that developed in the oven cleaner bag should wash off easily.
It's sort of like flash rust x 100! :)

I have returned items to the lye bath to resoak (after derusting), and had the same issue... but it scrubbed off easily.
Are you using Stainless Steel scrubbies?