Author Topic: Lewis & Clark  (Read 5519 times)

Darby

Lewis & Clark
« on: June 14, 2006, 11:43:49 AM »
I am studying a skillet that may have belonged to Lewis and Clark and was traded to an Indian in 1806. It has the attributes of an old skillet: gate mark, long handle low on the side, three long legs, no eyelet hole in the handle.  On one of Clark's maps a skillet lid was set, burning a ring in it that exactly matches the skillet that I am studying. So what are the chances of that? I am requesting rim daimeter measurements on all your three legged long handled eyelet-less skillets from the early 1800's.

This one measures 8 3/8-inches in diameter and approximately 2 ¾-inches deep with legs 1 5/8-inches tall and a 8 ½-inch handle.

I will compile the data and make it available to all.
Darby :D

Offline Clark Rader

• Forever in our hearts!
  • apaninhand
Re: Lewis & Clark
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2006, 07:33:14 PM »
Mellissa, Joel Schiff A WAGS member posted your article on another post and it was very interesting, I am sure that he will get with you in time. One question what is the distance between the 3 d/o legs? What is the 8 1/2 handle? Good luck
clark
What I know, I keep forgetting.

Offline Greg Stahl

• Administrator
  • Ole Scratch
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2006, 07:55:02 PM »
post some pix please.  Joel also emailed me last week about this skillet and it sounds very interesting.  tx, greg

"NO MORE MISTER NICE GUY!!" Alice Cooper.

Darby

« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2006, 10:36:10 PM »
Hello

The distance between foot 1 and foot 2 is five inches center to center. From foot 1 to foot 3 is 5 1/8 and from foot 2 to foot 3 is 4 9/10 inches. Is this significant?

I am having a hard time inserting the photo into this space. There must be a trick to it besides hitting the insert image button. I am new to this type of forum.
[img

Thanks
Melissa
« Last Edit: June 15, 2006, 07:32:35 AM by admin »

Offline Roger Barfield

« Reply #4 on: June 14, 2006, 11:39:24 PM »